Flat out

A couple of days ago I had my first flat tyre since starting my regular cycle commute to work several months ago.  In fact, I think my last flat was some time before that, even taking my long breaks from cycling into account.

Fortunately I’m in the habit of carrying a spare inner tube as well as a puncture repair kit, a pump and a small collection of tools whenever I’m out on my bike, so this wasn’t a major disaster.  Although working in the comfort of my office (I spotted the flat while I was at work – I generally bring my bike into the office during the day), I decided to go for the simpler option of swapping to the spare tube rather than trying to patch the old one, which has already been patched a couple of times so is probably due for retirement.  I was planning to fix the old tube later, but I think I may not bother.

The small pump I carry around on my bike is getting quite old and decrepit; it refused to make a solid connection with the valve on the tyre and I had to hold it on with one hand while pumping with the other, so it wasn’t possible to get the tyre pumped up to the pressure I usually aim for (around 60 psi) but I managed to get it inflated enough to cycle home on.  At home, I have a proper track pump which makes it an easy job to get the tyres up to the desired pressure.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

