Japandroid (Part 2)

Yesterday, I started talking about some of the Android apps I’ve been using to help me try and learn Japanese.   I shall now continue where I left off…

Another limited free version of a payware app that I have looked at is one called Survive Japanese!  This one’s a bit different from the others in that it is an adventure game.  The premise is that you have just arrived in Japan armed with little more than a desire to get stuck into learning the language; you have to wander round, exploring and interacting with things, gradually building up a knowledge of Japanese as you go.  There are regular quizzes, some listening-based and some reading-based, and you can initially approach them in a trial-and-error fashion if you don’t already know how to read hiragana or kanji.  I first tried the app when I was just starting on the hiragana (I had tried to learn them several years ago, but forgotten pretty much the whole lot) and found that it worked well in combination with the other resources I was using as a means of cementing the knowledge of the kana, as well as helping me to learn some basic vocubulary in context.  Unfortunately the free version seems quite limited in how far you can get (or perhaps I just wasn’t patient enough).  Again, I might consider getting the full version at some point if it’s not too expensive, but for now I’m concentrating on other resources.

In anticipation of a time when I’ve learned a bit more Japanese and will want to be able to look up words, I have installed a Japanese dictionary.  The one I found is called aedict, and seems to be a pretty good one.  You can enter Japanese words in kana (if you have a suitable input method – see below) or romaji (i.e. Japanese written in the Roman alphabet) or English words and there is also a kanji search option, which appears to offer several search methods.  The only one I’ve tried so far (since I haven’t yet done much with kanji) is drawing recognition, which gets you to trace the kanji on the screen with your finger and then tries to match it and gives a list of its best suggestions.   I have found that it quite often seems to completely miss the kanji I’m aiming for, even if I’ve drawn what appears to be a fairly good approximation, and offers some suggestions that look nothing like what I drew.  I assume that with a bit of practice I’ll probably get better at making it recognise what I’m drawing.

There were quite a few options available to enable Japanese input.  The one I’ve settled on, at least for now, is called MultiLing Keyboard. As the name suggests, this actually supports many different languages, so it’s potentially quite useful to me beyond my Japanese learning endeavours (for instance, its Welsh mode has a very handy dead-key feature for adding accents to characters, which is a bit quicker to operate than the default keyboard’s accented character input and supports accents on ‘w’ and ‘y’, which are needed in Welsh).  Regarding Japanese, it seems that you have an option of typing the characters in romaji and having them automatically converted to the kana syllabary of your choice (using the equivalent of caps shift to switch between hiragana and katakana) or having a keyboard arranged by initial consonant, where you hold down the key and flick in the required direction to select the vowel of your choice).  So far, I’ve mostly been using the latter method, as it gives extra practice at recognising the kana.  There is also a drawing recognition mode, a bit like the one in aedict (see above) and seemingly just as flaky; this can (in theory) recognise kana and various non-Japanese symbols, including Roman letters, as well as kanji.

Finally in this round-up of Japanese learning apps I must mention one that I’ve actually been using for some time and have just started using for Japanese.  This is Anki, a multi-platform flashcard program that operates on the spaced repetition principle (essentially, reviewing material less frequently as you get a better grasp of it).   The Android version is actually called ankidroid.  There are desktop Anki clients available for various operating systems (I have one running on Linux) and also a web interface.  You can synchronise all these together using a free web account, which enables you to create or revise flashcards wherever you are.  I’ve found that having it available on my phone makes it a lot more convenient than having to go to a computer in order to run a set of flashcards.  There are quite a lot of shared decks of cards available or you can create your own.  So far, I’ve mostly used my own decks (although I did download quite a good one of frequent New Testament Greek vocabulary) and I’ve only really used Anki for language learning purposes, although it can also be used for all kinds of other things.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

