Not a typo!

Perhaps inspired by my post yesterday about coffee beer, I have today been enjoying another blend of two things I love and listening to filk music (thanks to the last.fm tag radio).

In case you’re wondering, filk is not a typo.  Although there is no canonical definition of the term, it could be defined roughly as folk music on science-fiction themes, although both the musical genre and the subject matter are somewhat more flexible than that definition would suggest.

Actually, despite what I said just now, apparently the term did originate as a typo.  It appeared in the early 1950s in the title of an essay by somebody called Lee Jacobs:  “The Influence of Science Fiction on Modern American Filk Music” (which was, of course intended to be “…Folk Music”).  What was to become known as filk music was already happening by then, mostly in impromptu singing sessions at science fiction conventions, although it became more established in the 1970s.

Rather than reciting a load more information about filk music that I’ve just been reading about, I will direct you to the Wikipedia article on the subject (which has links to several other sources of information) if you are interested enough to learn more about it.

As far as I can remember, my fairly sporadic song-writing efforts to date have never ventured into what could legitimately be called filk territory.  I did once write a song about (or rather, against) mobile phones, as well as a tune entitled dodecahedron (so-named because you could sing it quite easily by just repeating the name of my favourite platonic solid), but I don’t think that either count.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

