Another slice of Pi

I mentioned the other day that I’d got myself a new Raspberry Pi computer and promised to say more about it soon, especially the fun I’ve been having with its GPIO port. This post was slightly delayed due to the pressing need to write about other Pi-related stuff at the end of last week, but here it is now.

GPIO (short for General Purpose Input / Output) is the name for pins on various integrated circuits (or chips) that are available to be programmed by the user. Essentially it’s a convenient way to interface your chip with a wide range of hardware. The Raspberry Pi FAQ defines GPIO as “a pin that can be programmed to do stuff.”

The Broadcom BCM2835 chip at the heart of the Raspberry Pi has 8 GPIO pins (as well as several other pins that are accessible by the user for various purposes that I haven’t yet figured out) and a nice, shiny 26-pin (IIRC) connector to make all of the pins accessible. Unfortunately that includes about half a dozen pins that can fry your chips if you connect stuff to them. Also, it’s not terribly convenient to connect wires directly to these pins. For these reasons, I decided to invest in a cheap, simple and potentially extremely useful accessory called a Slice of Pi (NB I have no connection to Ciseco, the company that sells this product, apart from being a satisfied customer). This is described as a “breakout board” and plugs in to the GPIO port on the PI, providing nicely labelled female connectors (i.e. sockets rather than pins) for the pins you can usefully use while hiding the ones that are liable to destroy the processor.

The Slice of Pi comes as a PCB with a bunch of loose connectors that need to be soldered into place. As well as being, presumably, slightly cheaper for the company to produce, this gives you the flexibility to only include the connectors you actually need. Fortunately it is not a particularly difficult soldering task to assemble the board, as my soldering skills are not the greatest.

Armed with my new Slice of Pi and a bunch of electronics stuff that I’ve had for years (since a previous occasion when I got interested in electronics), I have been able to wire up a few simple circuits to test out the GPIO capabilities of my Pi. So far, this has amounted to a few LEDs and a switch (plus a bunch of resistors and some wires) and all I’ve done with them is to make the LEDs flash in pretty patterns (hopping from one pattern to the next at the press of the switch) but I look forward to being able to move on to bigger and better things soon.

Pi Led #3

On the software side, the GPIO port is controlled by a library for your programming language of choice. At least, I assume there are GPIO libraries available for several languages. So far I’ve only looked at Python, which is the Raspberry Pi’s language of choice (and the reason for the “Pi” bit of the name, although they don’t tie you into using just one language) as well as one of my own favourite programming languages (and probably my strongest, to boot).

Having accomplished my first goal of getting the Pi to flash LEDs in pretty patterns, my next task is to figure out some actually useful things to do with the GPIO port.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

