Success and a splendid simile

Today I want to provide a couple of quick updates on my last two posts.

On Saturday I went to compete at the National Eisteddfod with the Menai Bridge Brass Band.  We came third in our section, out of a total of 7 bands.  This is the third competition I’ve taken part in with the band and the first of them in which we’ve reached the prize positions; it’s a good feeling.

We were indeed televised, although apparently they only showed two of the five pieces we played.  I saw a few clips on a TV monitor while I was at the Eisteddfod – I don’t think they were broadcasting live since they recorded a staged scene of the band preparing to go on stage (with me sitting at the end of the row, with instructions to look “super serious”) after we’d actually finished playing!

The other update is on my Doctor Who reading project.  Last week I mentioned that I’d reached the story with one of my favourite lines (in the TV version, unfortunately missed out in the novelisation).  I’ve now got a couple of books further on and come to what must be one of my favourite opening sentences of any Doctor Who book (or any book, for that matter):

It moved through the silent blackness of deep space like a jellyfish through the depths of the sea.

That is the start of The Claws of Axos novelisation by Terrance Dicks.  Almost certainly the most prolific of all the Doctor Who novelists (as well as the script editor on the TV series for more-or-less the entire Pertwee era), his prose is generally always at least competent and often excellent.   This is one of his rare third Doctor novels that doesn’t describe the Doctor as having a “young-old face”, although he provides a variation on the theme by saying that “the deeply lined face was curiously youthful”.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

