Happy Birthday, Albert

Today is Pi Day.  I have blogged about it for the past couple of years, so this time I’ll content myself with wishing you a Happy Pi Day.

Today is also Albert Einstein‘s 135th birthday.

A few months ago, I came across an excellent quote by (or at least attributed to) Einstein.  Apparently he said:

Everybody is a genius.  But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.

I’ll leave you to think about that one.

Incidentally, Pi Day was the subject of  a Google Doodle back in 2010, which was shown in quite a few countries but not, apparently, in the UK.  Einstein’s birthday was the subject of a Doodle way back in 2003, which was shown globally (although I don’t remember seeing it).

Update:

I actually wrote this post shortly after discovering that quote, although I decided I’d save it for this year’s Pi Day / Einstein’s birthday.  Since then, I’ve found another cool Einstein quote which I thought I’d also share (with analysis left as an exercise for the reader):

If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what then, is an empty desk a sign?

NB I’m not sure about that punctuation (or the provenance of the quote) but that’s how it appears in the picture I saw it in on Facebook, so I’ll leave it as it stands.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. What a great quote.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

