Let me diarise that…

This morning I came across a new word. That is to say, one I’ve not previously come across (or at least not registered), though I think it’s actually been around for quite a while.

The word is diarise (also, apparently spelt diarize) and, as you can see from the link, it’s sufficiently well-established to have its own entry on Wiktionary, though sadly without any etymological information. I haven’t got round to checking it out in any of my bigger dictionaries but it doesn’t appear in the Collins Gem English Dictionary (1988 edition – a souvenir from my school days) — that’s probably more due to the diminutive size of the dictionary than a reliable indication that the word didn’t exist 25 years ago.

The word, according to Wiktionary, means “to record (events) in a diary”. I suppose it could refer to keeping a journal (à la “January 9th – today I learnt an absolutely spiffing new word…”) but in the context in which I discovered it (a work-related email) it referred to making a note of the dates of several forthcoming events.

Although I’ve managed to get through several decades of life without knowing this word, it strikes me as one that, now I know it, will be very useful.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

