In praise of green goo

An occupational hazard of doing your own bike mechanics is that your hands are liable to get dirty.

Bike mechanics is certainly not the only thing I do that requires a bit of a clean up afterwards, but it’s definitely one of the activities most likely to stretch ordinary soap and water beyond the limit of what they can handle, especially if I’ve been working on the chain or other greasy bits of the bike.

Fortunately there are stronger cleaning agents out there than just soap and water.  Over the years I’ve tried several different ones with varying degrees of success.

Recently I’ve returned to swarfega, which I used to use quite often when I was growing up but haven’t touched for probably the best part of 20 years.  I discovered that it’s actually just about the most effective hand cleaning agent that I’ve tried.

As an added bonus, its distinctive aroma and green, gloopy appearance and texture give me a nice nostalgia trip every time I use it.  And you don’t need to use a huge amount even if your hands are properly grubby, so the small pot that I bought about a month ago should last me quite a long time.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

