Recursive poetry

I’ve mentioned a couple of times in previous blog posts that I rather like the xkcd webcomic, which describes itself as being “a webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math and language”.

It’s a daily comic which I follow on my blog reader and I more or less enjoy every instalment. Some stand out more than others, for various reasons, and today’s was one of these:

Ozymandias (xkcd)

There are two things I particularly like about this.

Firstly, I’ve always been fascinated by recursion, which is the basic idea on display here.

Secondly, Ozymandias (by Percy Shelley) is one of my favourite poems and is also the only thing I studied for A-Level English. That was because, when I did my A-Levels I had hoped to do English as one of them and got as far as attending one lesson (in which we read and analysed this poem). Unfortunately a timetable change meant that English clashed with chemistry and since at the time I was intending to go on and study chemistry at university, that meant I had to drop English. Unlike some other choices I’ve made, I’ve never considered that I may have made the wrong decision on this one, but I do still feel it was a bit of a shame that I didn’t get to pursue my formal studies of English a bit further. Of course, that hasn’t stopped me retaining an interest in literature (and especially poetry) over the years.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

