Magnus’ Movember Challenge (executive summary)

In case you missed my previous statement of my Movember challenge, or didn’t have the time or the stamina to get to the end of that rather long blog-post, here’s a restatement of the key information in somewhat more condensed form:

I have issued the challenge to myself and the rest of the world that if (and only if) I can raise £500 by the start of November, I will shave off my beloved beard of 20+ years and grow a moustache from scratch for the duration of the month. The money is for the Movember Foundation, which promotes men’s health, and the incentive is for you all to get to see what I look like without whiskers.

The shaving will only commence if the target has been met by the time I wake up on the morning of 1st November. At present, roughly half way between when I first issued the challenge and the moment of truth, I’ve raised slightly less than £200. Not a bad amount of money for a good charitable cause, but somewhat less than half way. So for the moment it appears that my beard is safe.

If you want to change that situation, the best thing to do is to visit my MoSpace and donate directly; you can do it anonymously or privately if you don’t want to tell the whole world about it. Alternatively, if prefer not to donate electronically, but can get the money to me in person, I’ll pay it in to the Movember fund for you; so far about £50 has gone in this way and any money I’ve received will be counted towards the target even if I’ve not had a chance to pay it in before the deadline is reached. What I’m not accepting is just vague promises to pay up – if you want to see me without a beard, you’ve got to part with your cash before I part with my face-fungus (and probably a certain amount of blood, given how out-of-practice I am at shaving).

Massive thanks to everyone who has already contributed to this initiative. I truly hope that enough other people will cough up that you won’t be disappointed!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

